National Board for the Certification of Ophthalmic Executives (NBCOE)

April 2024 - April 2025

The mission of the National Board for the Certification of Ophthalmic Executives (NBCOE) is to advance the field of ophthalmic administration by developing and maintaining criteria and procedures for conducting a valid and reliable national certification examination. The NBCOE is responsible for setting policy, developing procedures and suggesting guidelines for the Certified Ophthalmic Executive (COE) certification program in accordance with the NBCOE Bylaws. The COE program is the property of the American Society of Ophthalmic Administrators (ASOA).

The NBCOE consists of (9) voting members, the NBCOE Immediate Past President, and the Executive Director of the American Society of Ophthalmic Administrators (ASOA), both of whom shall serve ex officio without votes. Of the voting members, two (2) are Standing Members and seven (7) are At-Large Members. Standing Members include a member of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) and the ASOA Immediate Past President. At-Large Members may not run simultaneously for, or serve as, an At-Large Member on the ASOA Board of Directors. The NBCOE Officers are President, President-Elect, and Vice President. NBCOE officers are elected by a majority of the Board at the annual meeting provided a quorum is present.

Both Officers and Board Members begin their terms at the end of the NBCOE meeting held in conjunction with the Annual Meeting. At-Large Board Members serve two (2) year terms, and Officers, ASOA Immediate Past President, and NBCOE Immediate Past President serve one (1) year terms. The NBCOE members meet via conference call as needed and once in person during the ASOA Annual Meeting. The President may call other meetings on an “as-needed” basis for special projects or matters needing immediate attention.

Brittany Williams, COA, COE

President 2024-2025

Deborah Davis, COE

President Elect 2024-2025

Tina Allen, COA, OSC, COE

Vice President 2024-2025

Cathi Lyons, MHA, COE, COT

Immediate Past President 2023-2024

Patti Barkey, COE

ASOA Immediate Past President 2024-2025

Vicki Corby, COE

Member-at-Large 2024-2026

Jana Hartung, COE, LDO, COA

Member-at-Large 2024-2026

Josh McCaherty, MBA, COE

Member-at-Large 2023-2025

Amanda Turner, COE, OCSR

Member-at-Large 2024-2026

Tamim Qaum, MD, COE

ASCRS Liaison 2013-2023

We use cookies to measure site performance and improve your experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Legal Notice.