May 2020-July 2021

The mission of the National Board for the Certification of Ophthalmic Executives (NBCOE) is to advance the field of ophthalmic administration by developing and maintaining criteria and procedures for conducting a valid and reliable national certification examination. The NBCOE is responsible for setting policy, developing procedures and suggesting guidelines for the Certified Ophthalmic Executive (COE) certification program in accordance with the NBCOE Bylaws. The COE program is the property of the American Society of Ophthalmic Administrators (ASOA).

The NBCOE consists of (9) voting members, the NBCOE Immediate Past President, and the Executive Director of the American Society of Ophthalmic Administrators (ASOA), both of whom shall serve ex officio without votes. Of the voting members, two (2) are Standing Members and seven (7) are At-Large Members. Standing Members include a member of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) and the ASOA Immediate Past President, both of whom serve as non-voting, ex-officio members. At-Large Members may not run simultaneously for, or serve as, an At-Large Member on the ASOA Board of Directors. The NBCOE Officers are President, President-Elect, and Vice President. NBCOE officers are elected by majority vote of the NBCOE members.

Both Officers and Board Members begin their terms at the end of the NBCOE meeting held in conjunction with the Annual Congress. At-Large Board Members serve two (2) year terms, and Officers, ASOA Immediate Past President, and NBCOE Immediate Past President serve one (1) year terms. The NBCOE members meet quarterly via conference call and once in person during the ASOA Annual Congress. The President may call other meetings on an “as-needed” basis for special projects or matters needing immediate attention.