ASCRS•ASOA Releases Updated Guides on MACRA and MIPS Categories to Help You Choose Your Level of Participation in 2017 for 2019 Payment

As we reported last week, CMS released the Quality Payment Program final rule, which implements the Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and Advanced Alternative Payment Models (APMs). Following advocacy from ASCRS•ASOA and the medical community, CMS finalized several policy changes in the final rule. We have reviewed the final rule and have published detailed guides on the program and each of the categories of MIPS.

ASCRS•ASOA members have exclusive access to download each of the guides here:

Quality Payment Program Overview
Quality Category of MIPS
Resource Use (Cost) Category of MIPS
Advancing Care Information Category of MIPS
Improvement Activities Category of MIPS

In addition, we have clarified the first performance period (2017) flexibility options and requirements to avoid a penalty for 2019 payments: